COVID-19: At REI, we encourage you to get outside responsibly. Stay local, avoid recreational travel, practice social distancing and check ahead for area and facility closures. Learn More
Hiking Project Logo

Newbie- Should I use an external frame pack??

Original Post
Jordan Fitzgerald · · Tyro, Va · Joined Mar 2020 · Points: 0

I am new to backpacking and just acquired an old style Camp Trails external frame backpack. It is in excellent condition with all waterproofing intact. I was hoping for some advice, pros and cons? Does anyone still use these kinds of packs?

Joan Pendleton · · Almaden Valley, San Jose, CA · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 9,824

External pack frames are just fine.  I have an old one, bought in the 1970s at an EMS rentals sale.  It is the same weight, solidly strong still, better pockets than a very nice new internal frame pack i bought 3 yrs ago - i still question why i bought the new internal frame pack, probably because that's what's out there and being 45 yrs newer technology, i though it would be better - the old pack is clearly more durable.....  i do like both though.  

Bottom line, my advice would be to spend your $ on other needed equipment and use the external frame pack you have.   Hope this helps...

Solace Easy · · Nomad · Joined Apr 2019 · Points: 0