Adventure Projects is hiring a web engineer to join us in Boulder, CO
Hiking Project Logo

Adding a route...

Original Post
Chris Cordray · · Terre Haute, IN · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 121

I’m new to this and having trouble.  I recorded a walk this morning on the Hiking Project app, but can’t see how to add it from the app.  I followed the link in the app and read the instructions but it doesn’t say anything about how to add a recorded hike from the HP app itself, just other apps such as Strava and MapMyFitness.  What am I missing?

Mikhaila Redovian · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 6,053

Hello Chris,

Thanks for reaching out with a great question! If you have recorded a hike or a trail through our mobile app, you'll need to use a computer to get the route converted to a hike/trail on the site. If you log on online, you should be able to see the route listed under your profile. From there, if you click into the route, you should be able to convert the recorded GPS file to a hike/trail. This process can only be done online, and not from the app itself. 

Let me know if that helps, and we can go from there!

Best regards,
Mikhaila 

Marijn Speth · · Brussels · Joined Jan 2018 · Points: 46

Hi Mikhaila,

Just encountered the same issue. To be sure: it’s not possible to add a route via the website but on our mobile phones (instead of a computer)? I other words I will only see the button to convert my route to a trail on a desktop?

Regards,

Marijn

Bill Earl · · Santa Fe, NM · Joined Jun 2018 · Points: 0